Schafer Names Milk Members for USDA Board

WASHINGTON, US - Secretary of Agriculture Edward T. Schafer today announced the appointment of three incumbents and six new members to the National Fluid Milk Processor Promotion Board.
calendar icon 3 March 2008
clock icon 1 minute read

The National Fluid Milk Processor Promotion Board is composed of 15 fluid milk processors from 15 geographic regions and five at-large members. At least three at-large members must be fluid milk processors and at least one must be from the general public. The Board was established by the Fluid Milk Promotion Act of 1990 to develop and administer a coordinated program of advertising and promotion to increase the demand for fluid milk products.

Then newly appointed members filling vacancies lasting less than 18 months are: John R. Zuroweste, Charles S. Mayfield, Jr. and Janey K. Thornton.

The National Fluid Milk Program is financed by a mandatory 20-cent per hundredweight assessment on all fluid milk processed and marketed commercially in consumer-type packages in the contiguous 48 states and the District of Columbia. Processors who commercially process and market 3 million pounds or less per month, excluding those fluid milk products delivered to the residence of a consumer, are exempt from assessments.

The Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the operations of the Board. It is USDA's policy that membership on industry-governed boards and committees accurately reflect the diversity of individuals served by the program.

TheCattleSite News Desk

© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.