2012 Dairy Farmers of the Year Finalists

US - After an extensive judging process to narrow down a list of some of Australia’s most inspirational and innovative dairy farmers, two Queenslanders and one Tasmanian are in the running for the title of 2012 Dairy Farmer of the Year.
calendar icon 28 August 2012
clock icon 2 minute read

Dr Wendy Craik AM, Dairy Australia board member and Commissioner of the Productivity Commission sat on the judging panel and said it was quite a ‘daunting task’.

“We’re judging a list of experts in their field who’ve been nominated from all over the country for their extraordinary achievements and it was an extremely difficult job,” Dr Craik said. “They’re all winners in my opinion.”

The finalists for the 2012 Dairy Farmer of the Year Award are:

  • Robert Watson, owner of the organic and biodynamic Mungalli Creek Dairy in Millaa Millaa, Tropical North Queensland;
  • Grant Archer who in partnership with his wife Kim, owns a 296 hectare dairy farm and share farms with two other properties in Tasmania; and
  • Julie Gerber from Gerber Farms in Lowood, south east Queensland.

Dairy Australia is the sponsor of the Dairy Farmer of the Year Award which is just one of 11 categories of the Australian Farmer of the Year Awards.

In congratulating each finalist, Dairy Australia’s Managing Director Ian Halliday said: “I’m delighted to see Australia’s dairy farmers being recognised for their achievements. We have some amazing people in our industry.

“The dairy industry, like all agricultural industries, has had its fair share of challenges, but it’s an industry made up of people with an incredibly strong determination and passion to strive and succeed. These three finalists are being recognised for their accomplishments and Dairy Australia wishes them the best of luck in the awards.”

Hosted by Kondinin Group, ABC Rural and the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation, the awards are designed to celebrate the highly professional, innovative and sustainable approach of the nation’s farmers and raise the profile of the critical role farmers’ play around the country.

The winner of each category automatically goes into the running for the 2012 Australian Farmer of the Year Award. Winners will be announced at the Australian Farmer of the Year Awards at the Grand Hyatt Melbourne on Wednesday 12 September 2012.

TheCattleSite News Desk

© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.