Schafer Shuffles Beef Board

US - Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer today announced 32 appointments to the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board. All appointees will serve 3-year terms beginning Jan. 31, 2009.
calendar icon 3 December 2008
clock icon 2 minute read

Newly appointed members representing cattle producers are: Ted A. Greidanus, Calif.; Phyllis Snyder, Colo.; Kimberly B. Brackett, Idaho; Roland W. May, Kan.; Daniel C. Smith, Ky.; Jay O. Stovall, Mont.; Chris L. Schluntz, Neb.; Wesley L. Grau, NM; Joyce A. Bupp, Pa.; Michael V. Stahly, SD; G. Hughes, Abell, Texas and F. Henry Maxey, Jr., Va.

Reappointed members representing cattle producers are: Thomas S. Jones, Ark.; Roger L. West, Fla.; Terrell D. Handke, Kan.; Daniel J. Kerschen, Kan.; Charles J. Bassett, Mo.; James J. Eschliman, Neb.; Lyndell W. Whipps, Sr., Neb.; Margie B. Hande, ND; Joe B. Drake, Okla.; Andrea D. Hutchison, Okla.; Daryl R. Berlier-Owen, Texas; Robert L. Bruner, Texas; Daniel B. Dierschke, Texas; and Bryant W. Fisher, Texas.

Newly appointed members representing importers are: Dorith Marom, Conn.; Stephen A. Orodenker, NJ and Kelvin W. Whall, Va.

Reappointed members representing importers are: Ronald G. Allen, Pa.; Michelle A. Gorman, Md. and John J. O'Carroll, Kan.

The board oversees collection of $1 per head on all cattle sold in the United States and $1 per head equivalent on imported cattle, beef and beef products. In addition, the board contracts with established national, non-profit, industry-governed organizations to implement programs of promotion, research, consumer information, industry information, foreign marketing and producer communications.

The 106-member board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985. The Secretary of Agriculture selects the appointees nominated by beef, veal, dairy and importers certified organizations. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors operation of the board.

TheCattleSite News Desk

© 2000 - 2023 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.